Our hotel is located in Gdynia-Orlowo, which is an extremely charming residential area, open to the sea in the south part of the city. According to ancient legend, two magnificent eagles fought above the Orlowo cliff. In memory of this fight, local people called their village Orlowo (from orzel- the polish for eagle) A few centuries later this village became part of the city.
The beginnings of the Orlowo settlement go back to the XIX century, when a fisherman named Jan Adler opened a tavern here called the Adlerhorst. Later it became a small seaside resort. In the 20s and 30s wealthy polish citizens built their residences and boarding houses here.
The greatest attractions of Orlowo are the pier and the beach with the cliff in the background. The fist pier was built in 1928; the present one, whose only purpose is for walking, was built in 1934. The sea is shallow here with little stones on its bed. To the left, in a northerly direction, one comes to the Redlowo cliff, also known as Orla Glowa (eagle's head), which is a part of Redlowo Holm. It is the smallest Holm of many others on the 37km stretch of Baltic coast to Jastrzebia Gora. Since 1938 Redlowo Holm has been part of the nature reserve with sign-posted paths that can be followed when visiting the reserve. Swedish rowanberry, birch trees, oaks and beech trees are part of the vegetation.
To the north of the pier there is a traditional fishing harbour with yellow-green coloured fishing boats, which are manually pulled up the shore with help of windlasses. In summer, the Gdynia Theatre sets up its stage on the beach. In Zaciszna Street, close to Orlowska Street, next to the Kacza stream, there is an inconspicuous house, where in the 20s one of the best-known polish writers, Stefan Zeromski lived. It is very likely that whilst staying in this house, he wrote, "Wind from the Sea".
To the south of the pier, behind the residential quarter, is Kolibki, an old court and park complex, which can be reached via the picturesque Pla¿owa Street. You will be very impressed by the stable from the XVIII century as well as by the large carriage hall, where nowadays the horses of the local riding school are quartered. In the past there was a court on this site, visited by the polish kings Jan III Sobieski and Stanislaw Leszczynski. At the beginning of XIX century, a then great and nowadays quite neglected palace was built on the site where the court once stood. Horse riding is possible here.
Latitude: 54° 28'46.7"N
Longitude: 18° 33'20.5"E